In the Beginning: Social Media?

When I began the Master’s Program in Information and Learning Technologies at the University of Colorado Denver School of Education and Human Development, my awareness and utilization of social media was pretty limited. Below, I discuss where I was starting from. This is a modified repost from the week of January 22, 2017.

My main social media outlet has been Facebook. I use Doximity and LinkedIn, but really only to network and maintain contacts. Not a whole lot of socialization on those fronts. I do occasionally get medical literature updates through Doximity, but not usually anything I don’t get through my usual professional interactions and personal reading.

Facebook has been an interesting ride for me. Initially, it put me in touch with hundreds of people I would never have had reason or opportunity to reconnect with. This includes reconnection with a distant cousin with whom I have developed a great relationship. It also serves as a huge distraction sometimes, as it’s pretty easy for me to get embroiled in political discussions or to exchange humorous posts with friends and colleagues. I would say that, overall, it has been a positive force in my day-to-day life, and it has helped me foster good longstanding relationships with people I don’t get to see much (or at all).

I have definitely kept up on news issues that probably would otherwise get by me, since I am usually working through typical news times, and since I find CNN to have deteriorated to Fox-level “reporting.” I’ve learned a lot about people I thought I really knew as well. Folks I thought shared my political views and turned out not to have educated me (though not necessarily changing my mind) on ways to view problems from other perspectives. My interactions on Facebook have inspired me to reexamine my own views on certain issues.

 

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Clinical Medicine, Social Media Experiences

Leave a Reply

Archived posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,154 other followers

