Privacy on social media

Privacy in social media is a big issue, but to expect privacy to really exist while maintaining a network footprint is a little ridiculous. Once something goes online, you can never guarantee that someone doesn’t get ahold of it, download it, and save it before you decide you would be better off deleting it. I minimize my privacy concerns by not sharing information that I want to keep private and by compartmentalizing my social media experience into social and professional domains. I have made it a point not to engage colleagues who are not good friends on Facebook. I keep that to stay in touch with people I don’t see every day and to have a forum to express my humor, my irreverence, and my strong and controversial opinions in a forum where I don’t have to worry about my department chairman or the chief of staff looking over my shoulder. Even then, there is just some stuff I don’t post no matter how tempting it may be to do so.

For my base camp site, it’s strictly professional. I’m sharing my teaching activities and learning resources. My blog posts may reflect opinions, but they are largely focused and any controversies will be strictly professional. If I want to have a controversial blog, I’ll set up an anonymous one.

Tagged with:
Posted in Social Media Experiences

Leave a Reply

Archived posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,154 other followers

